Hansen responds to House passage of DPS bills

Sen. Goeff Hansen

Sen. Goeff Hansen

LANSING, Mich. — Sen. Goeff Hansen, R-Hart, issued the following statement Thursday regarding the Michigan House of Representatives’ passage of a plan to reform Detroit Public Schools:

“After months of intense negotiation, it was a blessing for Democrats and Republicans in the Senate to partner together and forge a compromise plan that will improve the educational future for the children of Detroit.

“As lead negotiator for the Senate, I worked to incorporate the goals of parents, community leaders, educators, local officials and legislators. The result was a comprehensive, bipartisan, multi-stakeholder plan that will finally address the multitude of financial difficulties facing the Detroit Public Schools system.

“The Senate’s plan maintains education choice and improves choice options for parents and students; avoids a lengthy and costly bankruptcy; returns local control to an elected school board; provides oversight of taxpayer dollars; and manages the opening of new schools so that all areas of the Detroit community have access to quality school options.

“I do have serious concerns with many aspects of the partisan package of bills passed by the House of Representatives. However, we will advance to the next phase of the legislative process and work toward a bipartisan solution that ensures strong, thriving education options for Detroit families. I will continue to recognize the perspectives and viewpoints of each of my legislative partners, but given the complexity of this issue, we must compromise.

“While current external events seek to distract us from our primary mission, my colleagues and I were elected to solve problems, together. That means the focus of our attention must remain on the children of the Detroit Public School system.”

Senator Goeff Hansen, R-Hart, is chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on K-12, School Aid, Education. He serves the residents of the 34th Senate District, representing Muskegon, Newaygo, and Oceana counties.