Hansen announces full committee assignment list

LANSING – Senate Majority Leader Randy Richardville has named Sen. Goeff Hansen to five committees for the 2011-2014 legislative term.

Hansen will chair the Senate Outdoor Recreation and Tourism Committee and will be a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee.

“As we move forward, Michigan’s natural resources are poised to play a pivotal role in our recovery,” said Hansen, R-Hart. “Both tourism and agriculture generate billions of dollars for our state economy and we must continue to cultivate both industries.”

The 34th District lawmaker will serve as vice chair of the Local Government and Elections Committee. He also is a member of the Insurance and Economic Development committees.

“I’m pleased with my committee assignments. These panels will deal with legislation that has a direct impact on west Michigan,” Hansen said. “We need to move swiftly and get Michigan back on track. I look forward to the input of area constituents as we develop sensible solutions.”

The 34th District includes the counties of Mason, Muskegon, Newaygo and Oceana.